I’m a history nerd!

So, Friday, I passed my usual level of nerd-dom and moved into an entirely new realm.  And I got excited about it, too.  Just some background so you can understand the depths to which I have descended:

I am writing a contemporary romance.  Well, okay, it’s written and I am slowly revising it.  It should come out this late summer, early fall.  Shortly, hopefully, to be followed by an historical romance set in the same place, only 1100 years earlier.  So that meant I had to do some research.

My DH convinced me to make my way to the library where he works.  I wasn’t too sure, but once I got there, it was really an embarrassment of riches.  There were so many books on Irish history — I couldn’t believe it.   There was one 2-volume set particularly that I really wanted to steal.  It was ancient — originally written in like 1913 or something and then reissued in 1967, but every word was a treasure.  I didn’t think I could photocopy both volumes completely because they were several hundred pages long and that just wouldn’t be feasible.

So, what was I to do?

This is where the nerd part comes in.

I grabbed my cell phone and headed upstairs (the basement where the Irish books are doesn’t get cell phone reception with my carrier).   I logged onto Amazon.  I searched for the book.  Low and behold — they had it!  It had been reissued last year as a single volume because “We believe this work is culturally important and have elected to bring the book back into print as part of our continuing commitment to the preservation of printed works worldwide.”

And it was 51.00, so I even got free shipping!  (Just so ya know, I did look for a kindle version.  Sadly, that was not an option.)   I paid my money happily.  I wanted to burst, I was so excited.  I ran downstairs to break the good news to my hubby, who I always THOUGHT  was a bigger history nerd than I.

Apparently, I was wrong.  Hence the title of this blog entry.

His eyes bugged out at the thought of 51.00.  Cheapskate. (Just kidding, honey!)

Anyway, it was too late.   Already bought, paid for, and en route.  And tonight I got the notice it had shipped and my little heart skipped a beat as I counted down the days until it arrives. (Maybe I shouldn’t have gone for the free shipping option after all.)  I will be drowning in the descriptions of how the Irish built their houses, the shape of their cooking pots, and what kind of food they ate.  I’ll be ooh-ing and ah-ing at the drawings of their jewelry and their clothing.  I’ll be sighing in ecstasy at the description of their shoes.

I can hardly wait.

And if that doesn’t make me officially a history nerd, than I just don’t know what does!

Thanks for reading.  Feel free to mock me in the comments below.  Not that I’ll notice.  I’ll be watching for the mailman.

About susannahsharp

I'm pursuing a life-long dream of writing now, something I am really enjoying. My first book should be out by Christmas. I want to blog about all things Irish; offering some book reviews for romantic, not smutty, books; and also things pertaining to reading and writing.
This entry was posted in Mondays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m a history nerd!

  1. How about joning the SCA, & eating the food they ate, making & wearing the clothes they wore, etc.

    • Time wise, I don’t think I could do that, Laura, but it would definitely help you get into character if you had the interest and commitment. I do like to watch them fight at Renn faires, though. I have filmed many a mock battle and jousting tournament for use in my own manuscripts. And I know other authors who have sewn the old-fashioned clothes her characters would have worn, so she knew what it would take to get in and out of them. Thanks for coming to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

