Views of Ireland

It’s Friday again!  Hard to believe how quickly it comes back around.  Anyway, I’ve been looking through the internet for the last few days for pictures of Irish castles as I get ready to have my book cover done.  But I never found any I liked as much as the ones my daughter took when we were there.  I thought I’d post a few for eye candy.    

About susannahsharp

I'm pursuing a life-long dream of writing now, something I am really enjoying. My first book should be out by Christmas. I want to blog about all things Irish; offering some book reviews for romantic, not smutty, books; and also things pertaining to reading and writing.
This entry was posted in Castles, Fridays, Kilkenny Castle, Scenery, View of Ireland and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Views of Ireland

  1. Dianna says:

    Hi Susanna,
    I don’t know if you are planning on using just the photo for your cover or using it as a background for a hero/heroine art. They look hi-res enough for either (except the first photo). Just make sure your artist photoshops out all the modern attachments that might be recongizable, like the security lights, drainpipes, double hung windows, flagpoles, etc. Ireland looks like a romantic place alright, I never knew the sun shone so pretty there 🙂

  2. Oh, I haven’t decided for sure, either. I’m thinking background, or maybe one of two pictures, which seems to be sort of the style now, you know? But yes, I will definitely only use parts of the picture and I’m not even sure if I’ll use those. The artwork for my blog (look up) was a piece I commissioned and I like it, but I’m not sure . . . oh, decisions, decisions.

    And yes, the sun CAN shine very pretty there, but it also rains a lot, lot, lot. It actually rained on us every single day we were there, which was close to two weeks. It became sort of a laughing point for us to see when and how hard it would rain. Anyway, all the rain is what makes the country so beautifully green so I tried really hard not to complain.

  3. Jessica says:

    Those are amazing. I want to go see them in person!

    • Someday if you ever have a chance, you should definitely see Ireland. It is one of the most beautiful places on earth. I hope that my books can get that across. Thanks for visiting and commenting, Jessica! It means a lot.

  4. I’m with Jessica – I want to see them in real life. good luck with your book

  5. Thanks, Louise. I appreciate your support. And yes, you should definitely see Ireland in person some day. Hopefully, my books will be like a little mini-visit. One of the tag lines I fooled around with when I started to think about them was “See Ireland without leaving home.” So that’s what I’m going for.

  6. The 3rd row on the far left—that picture looks like it should be on a cover—whether in the background or forefront.

  7. That is a beautiful shot, isn’t it? I’ll have to check with my daughter and figure out what castle it was she was photographing at the time. She always remembers. We took a lot of pictures in the town of Colm, where John Wayne’s “The Quiet Man” was filmed. Nearby there is a hotel where the actors stayed which used to be a castle. It is stunning, but we couldn’t get inside. So we contented ourselves with looking all over the outside. I strongly suspect this was there, although I could be wrong. If I ever have a million dollars, I would love to go stay there sometime. They even have a falconry class you can take! Can you imagine how cool that would be? Not that I cherish the thought of innocent little critters winding up as a meal, but I think learning about falcons would be fascinating.

    Anyway, thanks for the comment. I will definitely pull that one aside for possible cover art.

Leave a Reply

