Review of Snowbound with her Hero

Snowbound with her Hero

  • Title:  Snowbound with her Hero
  • Author:  Rebecca Winters
  • Pages:  192 pages
  • Price:  About 5 dollars for the paperback, about 4 for the e-book.

I didn’t post an NSR review last week because after reading four different novels trying to find one that fit all my qualifications, I had to admit defeat.  The pickings are really slim out there, folks.  I am trying to find a more consistent source so that I don’t just have to wander around the web blindly with a tin cup hoping someone will throw in an appropriate read, but at this point, that’s about all I can do.   I constantly look at book reviews  and review sites trying to find a book I can talk about here.

Anyway, as is obvious from the title, I did finally find one that fits my stringent requirements.

Basic Plot:   Claire Broussard has been widowed for a little more than a year and has taken her son Philippe and left France to live with her immediate family in Colorado.  Then, her late husband’s brother Raoul comes to the States, bringing her some distressing news and she returns to France with him, a journey that opens up some old wounds, forcing her to come to terms with feelings she thought she had left behind.

My Review:   This book did not live up to my expectations, partly due to what I think is a really ridiculous title.  The snowbound together plot is an oldie but a goodie and I actually decided to read the book in a large part based on that.  I like the idea of two people forced to be together for an extended period of time, roughing it, totally cut off from civilization.  It’s one of my little fantasies.  But in this book, there was never, and I repeat never, any suggestion of them being stuck together, snowbound or no.  I cannot imagine why the book was called this.  On top of that, the “my hero” part somehow implies that Raoul has done something heroic FOR HER, not just that he’s a great guy in real life.  Nope.   He didn’t.  She never got stuck anywhere, never needed rescuing, never even needed good advice which he was able to provide.  I would like to give Ms. Winters some benefit of the doubt and hope that she had another title selected for this book and was forced, on pain of death, to give it this one, because it honestly had nothing to do with the content.  So that was a disappointment right from the get-go.    The plot itself, I felt, also left a great deal to be desired.  The two characters are attracted to each other and have been for years, even when they were both married to other people.  But then both their spouses died and somehow Claire’s fear that the tabloids might think she had been carrying on an affair with Raoul in the past forced her to leave.  This just struck me as ridiculous.  If she wanted to prove that Phillipe was actually her late husband Eric’s son, she could have a DNA test done and carry the results around with her to flash at the tabloids when they started spreading lies.   Another problem I had throughout the story was the fact that both Philippe and Claire are like happiness angels.  Everywhere they go, everyone loves them, worships the ground they walk on, and they make everything magically better.  I really don’t like reading characters like that because it’s just not realistic.  I’m not saying there aren’t wonderful people who make you happy when you’re around them, but this was pushed to the extreme.

Tingle Scale:  Unfortunately, I am going to give this a  low rating on the tingle scale.  Raoul and Claire avoided each other for most of the book and when they finally did admit to loving each other, he left because she insisted she could never be with him.   Then she tracked him down and agreed to marry him and that was the end of the romance.  Philippe was actually with her in this scene!  In fact, they actually “sleep” together that night and I mean that in the literal sense because Philippe is in the room with them.  That fact is the only thing that allows it to be an NSR because they aren’t married yet, obviously, but we don’t even get to experience the cuddling as they lay next to each other!   There is a nice epilogue that hints at an active sex life, but even that was done more as a summary then in text that draws you in and makes you experience all those nice tingly feelings falling in love can elicit.

This book was a real disappointment both in the general plot, which strained credibility in oh-so-many-ways, and in the romance element, which I felt was lacking.

Tingles:  3/10

 

 

About susannahsharp

I'm pursuing a life-long dream of writing now, something I am really enjoying. My first book should be out by Christmas. I want to blog about all things Irish; offering some book reviews for romantic, not smutty, books; and also things pertaining to reading and writing.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, NSRs, Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

