Announcement: I’m teaching a class

I’ve been mentioning this a bit but wanted to post it on my blog as soon as I could and I would sure appreciate it if you were willing to pass this around to other writing groups you belong to.

I’m going to be teaching a 3-week long online class for Savvy Authors about using genealogical resources and skills in writing.  It will cover all aspects of building a character’s family tree to be appropriate for the time and place they live as well as using the right sources to add richness and detail to their world.

The class starts February 6 and will end February 24th.  There’s stuff to do with almost every lesson, with some of it being turned in for me to look at or for the rest of the class to look at and offer comments on.  There’s also quite a bit that will just be for you to keep as a guide for writing your characters.

I think this will be a useful class no matter what genre you write in and how far along you are in writing.  Genealogy in books is most often done poorly and I discuss in the class a lot of really bad examples and why they’re so bad!

I’d love to have you!  Here’s the link for registering:

http://www.savvyauthors.com/vb/showevent.php?eventid=1362

About susannahsharp

I'm pursuing a life-long dream of writing now, something I am really enjoying. My first book should be out by Christmas. I want to blog about all things Irish; offering some book reviews for romantic, not smutty, books; and also things pertaining to reading and writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

